1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Breadboard and my microcontroller.

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by danielsmusic, Dec 10, 2008.

  1. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,199
    Likes:
    640
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    How can breadboard capacitance be a myth?, it's even listed in the boards specifications.

    You can't build VHF radio circuits on breadboard due to it's excessive capacitance - no myth, no crapola. I wouldn't advise doing any radio circuits on breadboard, but for audio and logic it's fine (if you like that sort of thing).
     
  2. 3v0

    3v0 Coop Build Coordinator Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,404
    Likes:
    227
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA USA
    A while back I posted regarding building the circut up in parts, testing each part as you go. Go back and read it.

    Also there is no reason it should not work on a solderless BB unless it is a old worn out one.


     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2008
  3. kchriste

    kchriste New Member Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,677
    Likes:
    47
    Location:
    Victoria BC, Canada
    Maybe post a diagram of this "other" circuitry. Or better yet, the entire schematic of the project in one graphic file.
    One other thing. In your original post you state that you are clocking the shift register at 4Mhz. On your schematic your crystal is labeled as both a 20Mhz AND a 32Khz crystal. If it is a 20Mhz crystal, you should have _HS_OSC selected in config, not _XT_OSC. If it is a 32Khz crystal, then the caps may need changing to 33pf and you'll need _LP_OSC in config instead. What IS the crystal frequency anyway?
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2008
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. futz

    futz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,043
    Likes:
    24
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.

    Taken in the context of the forum they were posted in, Microcontrollers, my comments were correct. Nobody here is talking about building VHF radio circuits. :p
     
  6. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US

    Futz im siding with you here. Even if it was a "VHF radio" circuit it would not matter as the question was not on that part of the circuit it was on the power/osc side. :D
     
  7. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    danielsmusic look at some of the neat things you can produce. I made this like 20 seconds each. Sorry if pictures arent the best. Im using a old 1.3MP webcam. I dont think that the header will add too much resistance since its way thinker than a normal trace anyway.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.png
      1.png
      File size:
      406.4 KB
      Views:
      116
    • 2.png
      2.png
      File size:
      391.8 KB
      Views:
      94
    • 3.png
      3.png
      File size:
      385.8 KB
      Views:
      89
    • 4.png
      4.png
      File size:
      394.7 KB
      Views:
      89
    • 5.png
      5.png
      File size:
      407.4 KB
      Views:
      89
    • 6.png
      6.png
      File size:
      449.5 KB
      Views:
      100
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2008
  8. futz

    futz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,043
    Likes:
    24
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Hey Atom. I have a Digikey number for trimpots that fit the breadboard perfectly. They're accurate and very compact and pretty blue too. :D I'll post it after work tonight.

    The one at the upper right:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2008
  9. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    GREAT! thanks i always having issue finding cool parts like that.

    Nice to see site is up again. I always use your site as a reference point. :D

    Nice new organization (categories)
     
  10. futz

    futz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,043
    Likes:
    24
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    The 10K ones I have are CT6EP103-ND. They have a full range of values though. Just search for CT6EP and you'll get the list.

    The very breadboardable SPDT slide switches that I use are EG1903-ND. Very handy to have some of these.
    [​IMG]
     
  11. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    Thanks a bunch !
     
  12. Odin

    Odin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Norway
    Hey futz! Could you tell me the ascii code for the degree character? The little circle before the C in degree Celsius, as seen on the picture of your LCD. I was trying to find out yesterday, but got all sort of strange symbols on my LCD.
     
  13. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,174
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi,
    According to my data its 0xDF , [DFh] for the degree, its actually a small upper square.
     
  14. Odin

    Odin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Norway
    Thanks, Eric! That made the trick for my LCD. According to the extended ascii table, ASCII Table - ASCII extended character sets - IBM PC , 0xDF is a "upper half block". 0xF8 is supposed to be the degree sign, but shows something strange on the LCD.
     
  15. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,174
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi,
    This image is the HD44780 character dot/bit pattern.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. theo92

    theo92 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    WB, India
    the extended ASCII charecters doesn't work in swordfish?
    not that?

    I saw the only basic ASCII chars are accepted in swordfish LCD module..

    but did somebody what is the bit pattern like the followin::

    // initialise bit patterns...

    // programmable characters are available that use codes $00 to $07.

    // Create the bit patterns that make up the bars in the LCD's CGRAM.

    // The vertical bars are made up of 8 identical bit patterns

    const CGRAM(32) as byte = ($00,$00,$00,$00,$00,$00,$00,$00, // base bar

    $10,$10,$10,$10,$10,$10,$10,$00, // 8 x %10000 = |

    $14,$14,$14,$14,$14,$14,$14,$00, // 8 x %10100 = ||

    $15,$15,$15,$15,$15,$15,$15,$00) // 8 x %10101 = |||


    copied from swordfish LCD tutorial
     
  17. kusumitha

    kusumitha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes:
    0
    I have the same problem with my breadboard. I've programmed the knight rider circuit on PIC16F877. The program works perfectly on a PIC developement board but when i tried to run the program using a breadboard it takes too much current and the PIC is beginning to warm up as well as the 7805 although LEDs are not lighting(the PIC is in good condition although it warmed up. I checked it using the PIC developement board). I think it has something to do with the MCLR pin(giving 5 volts).
     
  18. LUNAR

    LUNAR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes:
    0
    well once i was facing similar problems i made the circuit four times but same result, but when i shifted the circuit to some other place on the board the problem was solved, in fact the rails were shorted within the bread board.
     

Share This Page