1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Auto Satellite Dish Repairs .. .. .. maybe .. .

Discussion in 'Radio and Communications' started by Musicmanager, Jul 9, 2017.

  1. Musicmanager

    Musicmanager Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Likes:
    48
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Hi Guys

    I'm hoping to find someone familiar with this equipment and offering advice .. ..

    I'm after one of these .. .. s-l1604.jpg

    It's an automatic satellite dish suitable for fixing to the roof of the new caravan I've just bought. As a new item, by the time you've bought the unit and the various bits and pieces that go with it you've handed over £650 to £800 .. .. ..

    However, there is one on fleabay .. spares or repair .. .. quote '' a capacitor has come off the main board .. .. .. "

    s-l1600.jpg

    Novice I am, naive I am, but on face value that doesn't look like too difficult a fix to me .. .. ..

    Is it likely there is 'knock on' damage elsewhere on the board ? Am I missing something ?

    I'd appreciate any thoughts .. .. .. .

    S

     
  2. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes:
    511
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE
    SMD aluminum electrolytic capacitors and TH caps are not that different in size. So replacing it per se is not that hard, even if the pads are damaged. A fiberglass "rubbing brush" can create new areas easily through the soldermask to solder the device to. What you don't know is whether there is any inner damage (if more than 2-layer board) and whether that is the only damage.

    As for "knock on damage" , I suspect you would need a better picture to see possibly buried traces as with a board of more than 2 layers. Of course, the soldermask is black, so that is not easy to see, and an eBay seller is not going to send you an X-ray.

    If it is just a 2-layer board and the price is right, I would not be that reluctant.

    John
     
  3. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,289
    Likes:
    1,223
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Looks to me as though the 44-pin chip at the bottom of the pic has a nasty bulge in its top surface?
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Musicmanager

    Musicmanager Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Likes:
    48
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK

    Mmm ... .. been eating the carrots in Cardiff !? I hadn't noticed that .. .. Well Done .. TY

    S
     
  6. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes:
    511
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE
    Didn't notice that either. It could also be an overly thick area of conformal coating that was just about to run. Does the dealer have any more views of the board? What is the chip (if you can read it) or can seller give that information? It does not look like a difficult chip to replace, if it is not something that has to be programmed. Of course, if that chip is bad, the price would really go down in my opinion, as the risk is a lot higher.

    John
     
  7. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,289
    Likes:
    1,223
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Don't think it's the conformal coating, since the apparent bulge extends partly underneath fairly legible text.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,295
    Likes:
    647
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    It looks more like a shadow on the photo than anything else.
     
  9. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,289
    Likes:
    1,223
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    There's a shadow extending from ~pin 5 to pin 11, IMO caused by a 'hill' to the left.
     
  10. Musicmanager

    Musicmanager Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Likes:
    48
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    I've asked the seller for some decent pics of the whole board and especially that chip .. ..

    S
     
  11. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes:
    511
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE
    Can you also ask the seller the ID on that chip?

    John
     
  12. granddad

    granddad Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes:
    76
    Location:
    Worcestershire UK
    Hi MM , Good reception at top of Porlock Hill for testing... :)

    Looks like a shadow of the camera...
     
  13. Musicmanager

    Musicmanager Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Likes:
    48
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Well, I'll wait and see if some more pictures arrive and some better detail ... .. .. .

    .. .. .. . what concerns me some is how that cap came off the board in the first place. I don't believe it would just fall off, tearing up some track with it so something encouraged it - either a physical blow or an electronic one.

    I've done a bit of research into the serial number and the date code and I think the unit is quite old, so maybe I'm on a sticky wicket, Ooops! sorry if there are any SA's listening ! :)

    GD... What are you doing up there ??

    Thanks for your thoughts Guys

    S
     
  14. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes:
    511
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE
    Believe it or not, one of my thoughts was that that capacitor was ripped off the board intentionally to divert attention from the real problem. After all, it does look kind of staged. Let's see how the seller responds.

    Call me paranoid?

    John
     
  15. tronitech

    tronitech Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    188
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    UK
    Hi paranoid!

    I think you are right. I wouldn't buy it because that IC definately looks fried?
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  16. Musicmanager

    Musicmanager Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Likes:
    48
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    .. .. ... and just to confirm all our suspicions, the seller has just declined to provide anymore pictures .. .. .. completely ignored my questions about the 'blown' chip .. ..and suggested he may be able to sell it to someone else ! They're two a minute, over here !

    A narrow escape !

    Thanks for keeping me on a even keel Guys, much appreciated !!

    Paranoid ? You can call me what you like, but don't call me late for my dinner ! :D

    Bestest .. .. .. .

    S
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
  17. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes:
    511
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE
    Go have a sip+ (i.e., 2 oz) of Lagavulin 16. I know Ian would approve of that. Count yourself lucky.

    John
     
  18. GromTag

    GromTag Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Messages:
    307
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    North Carolina
    There is a film of coating on the board, glossy by the looks of it. Also whatever knocked that cap loose would have either been some serious impact or done during any assembly. Odds are the board has been roughed a bit.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,251
    Likes:
    911
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    Even better... Send me some...!!
    For what its worth, that also looked a bit hooky for me...
     
  20. Musicmanager

    Musicmanager Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Likes:
    48
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Morning Folks

    Following your advice, I did show this guy a clean set of heels albeit a little slow moving and I subsequently purchased a Megasat Automatic Dome which has been installed on my van and works extremely well, a great bit of kit.

    However, during my search for this equipment a friend gave me a CAMOS PAPSA Basic along with a statement that it had never worked for him and therefore must
    be faulty.

    PAPSAmg_features.jpg

    After a bit of a play I have concluded that the problem is a missing component - a Power Inserter - based on the notion that if I take the cover off the dish body and apply 12vdc to the power terminal on the circuit board the whole thing leaps into life.

    Contact with CAMOS confirmed that they don't market PAPSA anymore and that they are made by SATMARK who are in S. Korea. Unfortunately, I cannot get SATMARK to respond to any communication ( they're probably too busy ducking the IFO's )

    There are a number of similar looking components including a variety of voltages available, especially on Ebay, and they all imply by means of a sketch that the power is fed to the antenna but blocked from the receiver. My confusion is how this is done, because the receiver in operation would require two way communication with the dish.

    Does anybody have any experience laden advice to offer please ?

    Thanks
    S
     
  21. Les Jones

    Les Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes:
    190
    Location:
    Lancashire UK
    My guess would be that the power inserter would just be an RF choke in series with the DC feed to the centre conductor of the coax. The signal from the LNB is in the 1000 to 1300 MHZ range (From memory.) The wiring between the coax connectors would need to be very short at this frequency. Ideally a stripline on a PCB with 75 ohm characteristic impedence. The RF choke would only need to be a few turns of wire. The DC input connection would be better going through a feedthrough capacitor of about 1 nF. I did think of suggesting a masthead amplifier power inserter but you would need to modify one of these by shorting out the capacitor that blocks the DC to the connector that goes to the TV. I am assuming that the settop box in your setup is also powered via the coax. If the settop box is not powered via the coax then this capacitor would be needed. By doing a search for "Masthead amplifier power inserter" I found some on this Amazon page. The third item (Axing TZU 15-02 Remote Power Inserter) looks like it may be what you need. It looks like you would also need a back to back F type socket to connect the coax to the side that goes to the antenna unit.

    Les.
     

Share This Page