Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Advice on Capactive fluid level sensors .

Status
Not open for further replies.

garyd

Hi , firstly let me say that I am not an electronics expert by any stretch of the imagination but I do have a basic grasp of the subject and have come here as it was recommended as a good place to seek advice .I have an external computer water cooling system known as a Zalman reserator xt and have been heavily modifying it I have now come up against a brick wall though as my knowledge is simply not enough , the problem I need addressing is that the reserator has a built in Aluminium reservoir for the cooling fluid connected to a water pump which I want to want to do away with and replace with 2 pumps each incorporating it's own reservoir, the reserators own reservoir has 2 water level sensors which I believe to be of the Capacitive type each has one single Yellow wire connecting it to the front control /display panel/circuit board which incorporates an alarm should the level fall too low the alarm sounds and the unit shuts down, I want to do away with the level sensors as I do not need them and they would be very difficult if not impossible to incorporate into the modded reserator , my question is can I fool the circuit board into thinking they are present when they are not or could I simply join the 2 single Yellow wires together and achieve my aim that way ? any help or comments would be most appreciated , Gary .