Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

A hard to resist problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
I got some 1/2 watt resistors from a shop called jaycars here in New Zealand and then I wanted to get a lot more and since I'm a cheep student I didn't want to spent a whole lot of money at jaycars I jumped on eBay to get more 1/2 watts for cheaper as I'm sure plenty of people do but when I received them today I found that they were 2x bigger then the ones from jaycar so I checked the packaging on both the jaycar resistors and the eBay ones and tho only difference that I could find was that the jaycar ones were labelled 0.5w and the eBay ones were 1/2w... Correct me if I'm wrong but 0.5 and 1/2 is the same thing right? So why are the eBay resistors bigger? I'll post an image of them side by side too show you what I mean.

IMG_1830.jpg

The small resistors get hotter and could be made of more temperature stable metal so they can stay within range at higher temperature.
If the lead is bigger diameter it uses the PCB as heatsink.

The small resistors get hotter and could be made of more temperature stable metal so they can stay within range at higher temperature.
If the lead is bigger diameter it uses the PCB as heatsink.
Where can I get the smaller ones for cheap and what are the smaller resisters called?