Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

555 timer salvage

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmille38

I am just getting started in recycling used and broken electronics for parts. I know I could just buy in bulk on line but I think it is fun to take things apart and learn from them as well as I think it helps the environment to recycle. Any way my question is do you know what electronic devices are good for salvaging/finding 555 timer chips? Like maybe something that has flashing lights, toys etc.... Thanks for your time

I doubt it, not many commercial appliances use 555s.

I doubt it, not many commercial appliances use 555s.

Oh, ok. Thank you for the reply. I will just buy them then. Do you guys have any trusted sites to suggest that I order from? I am a little apprehensive of ordering online from random sites. Also if you have time to answer anther question, why are they not used in commercial appliances?

Digikey, Mouser, Newark, Jameco, Spark Fun, Dontronics, and eBay are places I've ordered from recently with no problems. Digikey's the best, but Mouser's cheaper. Newark's expensive, but has a lot of industrial stuff and transformers and things. Sparkfun, Dontronics, the Robot Store, American Science and Surplus and places like that have a lot of cool gizmos the others don't. Don't underestimate eBay, they have great deals on some things you wouldn't think they would carry.