Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Writting Manchester line coding

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi , im trying to write a manchester code/decode using Keil C with 8051 cuz my RF Tx,RX cant work with DC components like UART ... i read about it but still i need some more info ... ?

I recently wrote a C program that will receive an RC5 data stream so you could take a look at that for ideas if you want. I'm not a professional C programmer so there's undoubtedly ways you could improve on my technique, but my program works so that's a start. I'm still writing the transmitter side software.

Brian

You can write using any code you desire.

If you have a hardware UART you could use that. As the start/stop bits are balanced anyway (0-1) you could encode each byte you wish to send as 2 manchester bytes. All you would need is a lookup table with 16 entries and you split your byte up into two 4-bit nibbles, encode each one seperately, then send each one.

That way you can also include preamble and sync bytes, as these violate the manchester coding and so cannot be mistaken as data.

Using the 'case' statement in C would probably be easiest.

0000 -> 01010101
0001 -> 01010110
0110 -> 01101001
1111 -> 10101010 etc..

Using the hardware UART means you do'nt have to bit-bang, plus it could work quite quickly. The only problem with it is, the statr and stop bits in the stream, once decoded prodcuce a '1' every 4 data bytes. But that could be used to synchronise the stream.

Blueteeth