Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Wiring multiple LED's

Status
Not open for further replies.

RC_Racer

Hi all, I am a relative newbie to the electronics world and I have a project I want to do but need some direction. I have an 1/8th scale remote controlled nitro buggy. I want to add some lights to my car but I have a few factors that need to be addressed. I have already put 2- 3.6v led's in the front for headlights. No problems there until I added a few lower voltage bulbs as tail lights. Contrary to what the "professional" at Radio Shack said, I can't run all the lights from 2 "AA" batteries.
What I would really like to do is have the headlights & tail lights on one switch and a light bar on top of the car with probably 4 more lights on a separate switch. My biggest problem is that I am very limited for space to mount multiple power supplies. I was wondering if it was possible to use a 9 volt battery to power everything? I'm sure I need resistors or something but I don't know how to calculate what size I need. I really don't even know for sure if what I want to do is possible. Will a 9v battery be enough for 6-3.6v led's and 4-others that are a lower voltage bulb? How long would it burn the led's before the battery runs out?
Any help you can give me will be greatly appreciated. I have done a lot of electrical work on residential homes so the switches and everything aren't a problem.