Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Will this current limiting funtion work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RedValley

I wanna make a LAB BENCH POWER SUPPLY using LM317 with CV & CC
Can anyone plz inform me how this circuit current limiting function work? It says it can limit current 0 - 10A. As I'm a student I don't know actually will this circuit can limit current or not. It will be helpful if you kindly let me know
I got this from YouTube

Attachments

• Diagram.png
    Diagram.png
    271.1 KB · Views: 218
Everything in that circuit looks like it would be correct.
Hey this circuit works. CV has coarse adjustment and I know how to do fine CV adjustment. But can you help me to do fine CC adjustment? CC adjust coarse ( I tried 1A load using lamp, then adjust CC knob it shows : 1A , 700mA, 500mA, 200mA then 0) but how can I do fine CC adjustment ?

The current circuit is plain weird..
It has no actual sensing across the series power resistors, and the voltage regulation does not allow for the voltage drop across those so the output voltage is not actually stabilised, or the true output being displayed on the meter.

You could substitute something like this for the 317 & transistors etc., in that, keeping the meter and other voltage regulators. It shoud work far better: