Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Where to start? An advanced project for the inexperienced.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bob65536

My goal is to basically build a small (~200lb) robotic front-end loader capable of doing automated or semi-automated yard work. A micro turbine will power a hydraulic pump that will power the loader. Another person is designing most of the mechanical side. Its my job to design most of the electronic side.

I have 8 years of experience in C++ and I have dabbled in many other languages like assembly, PHP, BASIC, etc. So I feel very comfortable with the programming side of it. What I have no experience with is electronics. I have no illusion that I'm going to be able to put it together overnight or that anyone will design it for me. I have a few questions though and I would appreciate any answers.

1. I'm going to have to learn about electronics and digital electronics. What are some good learning resources for especially as it applies to robotics?

2. Its complex enough that the brains will probably have to be an old laptop. I saw some boards that can be used to interface a laptop to IO devices via USB. So far I count 4 inputs and 7 outputs. I know I will need at least a couple more inputs, because I don't know how I'm going to get the navigation to work exactly. The only problem I see is most of the chips I found don't have that many pins. Any critiques or suggestions on what I have there?