Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Where to place fuse in a country with nonpolarized 3-prong outlets

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnsmith1261

Hi!

I'm currently studying PSU construction.

I've read that one should place the fuse on the live wire. But as I gather, USA and UK use 3-prong outlets that let you insert plugs in one way only, so that live and neutral never get swapped inside the equipment.

But here is the twist: I live in a country, where you can insert 3-prong plugs either way. These are called Type F plugs, see here:
AC power plugs and sockets - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

So where do I put the fuse now? Should I apply two fuses?
More interestingly, what should I do with the metalcased/grounded PSU that I have ordered from abroad and has the fuse only on the live wire?

Thank you very much,
j

It's quite common now for items to be fused (and switched) in the neutral lead, so I don't think it really matters.

But I've read many times, that the main reason for putting the fuse on the live is to prevent the rest of the circuitry from getting to live potentional in case of a failure. Even though the fuse gets blown and no current can flow between live and neutral, the circuit can stay at live potential, because the fuse interrupted only the neutral wire. Isn't it so?

Thanks,
j