Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Ways of Driving a High Power Stepper Motor at 24V, from a 12V Battery

Status
Not open for further replies.

sweaterlife

Hi,

I'm an electronic engineering student currently working on a project for my university's student racing team.

Then goal is to provide an electrically actuated gear shifter to operate the cars gear box, i.e. a paddle shift gearbox.
The gearbox on the car is a sequential shift gearbox taken from a honda motorbike.

We require 10Nm of torque to execute a shift, by turning the gear selector shaft where the bikers foot would usually kick a lever. We had considered using a solenoid, however this is a common solution, so we are attempting to solve this problem with a stepper motor. This will offer greater positional control and efficiencies.

In order to deliver the required torque, we must drive our stepper motor at24V, 6A per phase. This equates to 24V, 12A which is a huge power demand of 288W. We have already built a H-Bridge circuit capable of operating under these conditions, and constructed a microcontroller system to drive it, however we are struggling to produce the required voltage and current from the cars on board 12V battery.