Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

voltage stepdown chip and diode location

Dave001

I have a simple LED strip light setup as shown in the pic. the source is a trigger / switch from a accessory output port, so no issues on that end.

I need help with this:
1- Is there is suitable IC chip for this job?
2- I need to place a diode in there somewhere to keep juice from flowing backwards to the other source. Where do I place it? (yes Im fairly new to this stuff.)
3- What diode would be suitable for this?

24V stepdown.png

Thanks in advance!

Place Schottky diode, 1 in each positive leg of stepdown output. Pick a diode with worst case
total load current and one with reverse breakdown V at load when one supply is off, grounded.
Use ratings that are 30 - 50% greater than needed for margin. Also compute worst case power
in diode, its Vdropmax x I loadmax to see if it needs heatsinking.

1692099958881.png

The led strip is only 20 mA of current draw ? That does not seem right.

More sophisticated approaches :

Regards, Dana

Last edited:
Excellent point Ron and the accuracy of Vload improved due to lack of additional
V drop outside control loop and its Vdrop T sensitivity, eg. the diodes.

Regards, Dana.

Place Schottky diode, 1 in each positive leg of stepdown output. Pick a diode with worst case
total load current and one with reverse breakdown V at load when one supply is off, grounded.
Use ratings that are 30 - 50% greater than needed for margin. Also compute worst case power