Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Voltage Regulation (Alternators)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jubbsta

Hey Everyone,

Please forgive me if any of my terminology doesn't make sense or my questions are redundant - I'm an extreme novice here. I work as an auto repair technician, and a coworker of mine has been having an issue with his vehicle and I've gone down a rabbit hole, problem is any question I google results in basic responses of how alternators work - I'm already familiar with the basic workings and anatomy of an alternator. The issue is: he replaced his alternator with a new one due to the output dropping to ~11V with several loads turned on and the vehicle at idle - repair manual for his vehicle specifies no lower than 13V. Per the schematics, the Voltage Regulator is integral to the alternator. We've checked voltage drops across both ground and power circuits and both are within specification. The diagram lists terminals - C to the PCM, B to B+, and L for the dash indicator. No where in the circuit does it show S for signal, and under the PCM input/output list it DOES have Battery Voltage listed under inputs (though I can't find any voltage sensor in any other diagram, assuming it's integral to PCM?). When de-pinning & isolating the C terminal from the alternator harness there is no change - we did this with the hopes that it would throw a "model" type value resulting in an increase of output voltage. The main question I have is there a way to find out what exac