Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Video out from a PIC

Status
Not open for further replies.

wilma

Hi newbie here, am quite familiar wih PIC for control, looking for some help.

I currently use the usual 16x2 LCD's for status outputs. In a new project im looking to have a "video out" or even a "Video overlay"

Im followung 3 diffent avinures at the mo:

1 - straight up buying one (www.stv5730a.co.uk, or BOB 3http://www.decadenet.com/bob3/bob3.html )

2 - using a serout from a PIC to go into a OSD chip from a old pace sat reciever (the mitsubishi M50555-001sp)

3 - working out how this PIC in this kit (**broken link removed**) does it. (its a PIC16C505-20/P)

so my question is 2 fold:

ref my option 2, are there any other IC's available that waould interface with a PIC with minimal componants that would output to a video out.

ref my option 3, the video out in the circut given is simply wired to RB0 and RC0, how does this PIC do it? whats the coding needed?

thanks in advance

Simon

You can generate RS170 (like NTSC but black and white) with a PIC. All you need is a fast D to A. The timing reqirements are fairly steep though. You also need a fair amount of memory to store your video frames. All in all this project is better suited to a FPGA or CPLD.

Brent