Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Turning off pump with high level water probes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chrisbes

I am very new to electronics (but hopefully learning fast) and am looking for a way of turning off a pump (via the water bridging a simple pair of probes at the top of the tank) in a timed flood and drain hydroponics irrigation set up, where the tank is dry between pumping periods.

The required repeat timer I have found (courtesy of Ron) at **broken link removed** but the override turn off I cannot work out. Could anyone help me please?

Hi Chrisbes,

you don't want to have the pump run dry if there is no water and you want the pump to switch off it the reservoir is filled to the top.

That's at least what I'm reading from your problem.

To achieve both it doesn't require electronics.

For pump deactivation under no water conditions use a pressure switch fitted into laundry washers to regulate the water height. They can normally be preset to three different pressure values - select the lowest.

To switch off the pump if the reservoir is full I recommend using a floating switch, normally produced with an adjustable cord length on the floater.

So the logic wiring of the two switches should be

reservoir not full, water supply present: pump on
reservoir full, water supply present: pump off
reservoir not full, water supply absent: pump off

in other words both switches must be "AND"ed to achieve the desired switching.

Boncuk