Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

total novice would like to know if it is possible to..

Status
Not open for further replies.

stevehawkes

Hi,

I am a chef and a total novice when it comes to electronics.

I have a Velleman strobe kit.
When I bought it the back of the pack said it could adjust the flashing time.
I took that to mean that I could adjust the length of the flash, but it meant the time between flashes.

I want to modify the kit to allow me to be adle to increase the length of flash but retain the facility the kit already has.

Please can somebody advise if this is possible

I attach a PDF of the oinstructions that came with the kit

please please shout out if you can help as I know nothing much about electronics..................

regards and thanks

Stephen

Attachments

• vellman_kit.pdf
    124.2 KB · Views: 821
The duration of the flash is limited by the circuitry and by the design of the flashtube itself. A flashtube that is producing light for a long period of time is really a high intensity discharge light. Usually an HID power supply provided a striking voltage to start the light and a much lower voltage to sustain it. Chances are good that you'd have to start fresh with the power supply and check with the flashtube manufacturer to see how long you might leave the light "on" - if the construction of the tube allows.

The circuit has two LED that you can control the speed of flash.
(the time between flashes can be increased / decreased)