Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Total Newbie with exciting project - help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

maxxx

Hello, first time poster here, have read a few project posts and am very encouraged to have found - and become a member of - this forum. I hope that you guys can help me!

My project involves car electronics / stereo. I wish to use my stock cassette radio to control an after market stereo. Basically, I have a hidden after-market "brain" that is ready to accept several functions from the factory steering wheel controls. As you can imagine, the steering wheel controls include a + and - momentary toggle switch for volume.

However, I would like to crack into the wiring of the volume knob (rotary encoder) on my factory cassette radio and use it to control the volume of my hidden stereo brain. In other words, I want to convert the varying sine wave outputs from the rotary encoder into momentary pulses of "+" when moved clockwise (for volume up) and momentary pulses of "-" when turned counterclockwise (for volume down). The rotary encoder has detectable detents as you turn it in either direction, so if I turn it over three detents clockwise I wish that to translate effectively into pushing the volume "+" button three times. Are you with me?