Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

tabs and different linker files

Status
Not open for further replies.

justwantin

I'm very new to programming PIC's and this list. I have been reading about programming PIC's but with so much info on the net I may have missed something.

First off, do tabs abnd carriage returns matter in an .asm file? I have noticed that different editors handle tabs and such differently, e.g. notepad will add a carriage return to the file but most linux editors do not. I have been having trouble assembling a tutorial script and have noticed changes in line and contents when opening in different editors.

Secondly I have a recently purchased PICKit 2 and have installed MPLab-8.33 from a download. Using the turn_on_led.asm from the tutorial I am getting very different results between MPLab and Pikdev a linux based ide

MPlab only gives me the option of using a linker file 12f509_g.lkr, while Pikdev users a file named 12f509.lkr. I get failed builds in MPLab but do not in Pikdev. I also get "out of date notices for my object file among others.

Could this be something attributable to older code on newer software, perhaps something else? I have gonne over the asm more than once and can't find anything different fom the Gooligum tutorial. I'll post error messages and my code below:

TIA

Code:
Debug build of project `C:\Projects\Lesson-1\turn-on-led.mcp' started. 
Language tool versions: MPASMWIN.exe v5.33, mplink.exe v4.33