Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Struggling artist needs PnP printer advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.

rachelrose

Okay, I'm here because this is where I figure the very best advice will be. You guys know transfer resist. I'm a mixed media jeweler who wants to work with PnP blue to do chemical etch. I already know how to do the etch part (I work on brass and copper), I've done it using just a paint resist and scribe to scratch in a design. But I want to use PnP blue to transfer text and art. My problem is that no one down here (I'm in the Florida Keys) will let me near their photocopier with it. Office Max - no. Office Depot - no. Libraries, other public copiers - no,no,no.

So I'm committed to buying a laser printer to dedicate to this process. My question is which one? I don't want to buy one only to have it jam and be useless for the job. Can you help me? It would be best if someone has a recommend of a fairly new machine that they are using successfully; in other words, one that is still available.

I bought the PnP blue I have from Thompson Enamel. They have been no help, I called and they said "We've never had a problem," and won't make a recommend. Printer manufacturers are no better. The tech people don't seem to know what PnP blue IS.