Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

STM32 and ST library, GPIO and possibly clock problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

wattrod

I'm new to ARM development and trying to do some fundamental beginner stuff with STM32. I have a VL Discovery board, and I'm just trying to send serial data. I set up the port, relying largely on sample code (though at this point I think I mostly understand what it's trying to do), and it definitely sends something, but it comes out as garbage on the other end. This happens for a variety of different baud rates, even 4800 baud. So I figure the baud rate is inaccurate for some reason (but I'm unsure how -- I call a function in the ST library and hand it a baud rate, it does the calculations).

So I try to measure the system clock. I try to set up the MCO on A8 so I can put a scope on it, and I end up getting a very faint signal, +/-40mV, that looks like a very messy clock, with waves that aren't very square. Most importantly, the period is not consistent. Many of the waves are sort of the same length, but frequently there are really short ones, and much longer ones. I couldn't even get a viewable image on my old analog scope; I had to use a DSO to capture a screenful so I could look at it.

So then I try to just toggle a GPIO pin to see how consistent that is, flipping it back and forth with the BSRR and BRR registers in a while(1) loop, mostly following example code to do so. And I'm getting no output at all.

So, I'm really confused at this point.