Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Stereo mini plugs: Which contact is right?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a total noob here and a complete novice when it comes to electronics. I know how to connect my hand-me-down speakers' wires and garage sale Radio Shack turntable to my hand-me-down receiver, and that's about it.

I need to replace a 1/8" stereo mini plug on a set of computer speakers.

I Googled and found a couple of web pages that tell how to do this:

How to Solder Stereo Mini-Plugs | eHow.com

How to Solder Stereo Mini Plugs: 7 steps - wikiHow

But, unless I overlooked it, neither of these pages tells me which wire to attach to which contact on the mini plug.

The left and right wires are insulated in red and white plastic.

One of the contacts appears to go down the center of the plug. I'm guessing that that suggests that it connects to the tip of the plug.

In any event, I'd be grateful for some advice on figuring out which wire to solder to which contact.

Will in Seattle
a.k.a. "Clueless"

The right channel goes to tip, the left to ring, and the common side of both channels to the sleeve. You will be soldering a total of four wires to three contacts. Can you tell which contact on the plug is tip, and ring? Sleeve should be obvious.

Usually, a two-conductor cable goes to each speaker. There is usually a tracer on one of the speaker wires to identify the polarity of each speaker. The conductors with the tracer usually go to the sleeve.

Last edited: