Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Speaker - usb charging repair

thomasabcd

My kids have a bluetooth karaoke speaker that will not charge. After opening the speaker, I could see, that a part of the micro USB-port used to charge the speaker was broken off. Since I am a beginner and don't have a soldering iron I am trying to figure out, whether I can fix it easily without soldering.

The speaker is powered by a battery that connects to the print board through a black and a red wire.
IMG_0217 copy.jpg

By doing some googling, I found this Youtube-video which got me thinking if I can cut the red and black wires and connect them to a usb-cable and charger like in the video:
?

If it works it seems straight forward to either solder the wires compared to soldering the micro usb-port which is in a very tight spot. Or maybe even just use some electronics tape like here

Your input is much appreciated

If the red and black wire to the right of the photo goes directly to the USB charge socket, it should be OK to connect that to a separate USB plug.

If you do not want to solder, I suggest you get some Wago 221 or similar lever-operated cage clamp terminals.

Just strip the insulation from a wire for the correct length, open the lever, put the wire end in and close the lever. They form an extremely reliable connection.

All the sections are electrically connected in these, so two of the two position type can be used for joining the wires - one for the reds and one for the blacks.

s-l500.jpg