Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

soldering iron

Status
Not open for further replies.

hvgap

I did a search and found little.
I am new to electronics but am very interested and i was wondering about what would be a good soldering iron to start out with. I dont want anything from radio shack because ive used them and they are not reliable at all. So what would be a good reliable soldering iron that would last me a good bit of time. Thanks for any help, price is really not an issue, but i guess less than 100 bones would be nice

It's no secret a good soldering iron makes the work a lot easier. For about half your max price, you can pick up reputable brand soldering stations from distributors such as Jameco, etc. Look for one with variable temperature, grounded tip`and

It's no secret a good soldering iron makes the work a lot easier. For about half your max price, you can pick up reputable brand soldering stations from distributors such as Jameco, etc. Look for one with variable temperature, grounded tip`and rapidheat-up

I really am clueless when it comes to this sorta thing, so could you just point them out to me, links would be fantastic.

Again thanks for any and all help

It's pretty simple hvgap, you want the highest wattage possible that's temperature controlled. Temperature control is the important part. For simply work Radio shack models are fine as long as they're temperature controlled. But you can probably do better elsewhere.