Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simple Infra-Red (IR) Learning Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frakkle_Rogg

Hi,

I am a student trying to build a circuit for an A-Level electronics project. Essentially I am trying to construct a two-button learning remote.

When one button is pressed, the device would go into `Learning` mode, where another remote could be pointed at an IR receiver in the device, and the signals transmitted could be recorded and stored. When the second button is pressed, these recorded signals would then be transmitted back through an IR transmitter.

The remote needs to run off a very low voltage, for instance that provided by a small `button` type battery.

I am pretty inexperienced when it comes to IR related stuff (well, electronics in general :)), so any diagrams would be a massive help.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,
David.

I think most remote controls transmit using a 38kHz Ir signal. In the past I have used GP1UD281YK0F to receive the signal with, do a google for it. You'd probably then feed that signal into a microcontroller to deal with whatever code is received. Pretty complicated project for a beginner if you ask me.

Norlin said: