1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Salvaging Parts

Discussion in 'Datasheets, Manuals or Parts' started by napalm, May 29, 2007.

  1. napalm

    napalm New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes:
    0
    What do you like to salvage parts from? I like those crummy solar yard lights. Salvaging one yields you a rechargeable AA battery, a photo resistor, a solar cell, and a led. The bonus is that the lights themselves suck, so I'm sure no one would mind if you..erm....."borrowed" one from their yard.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2007
  2. HarveyH42

    HarveyH42 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,442
    Likes:
    18
    Location:
    Not Here
    Yeah, those solar yard lights are kind of bad at first, but can be made good. The AA batteries are cheap 600mAH, don't last very long on a charge.

    The older ones I have use two batteries, I replace them with NiMH 1600+ mAH batteries, can stuff 4 AA in there. Then I can put a couple bright white Leds in place of the weak amber. Also runs a microcontroller pretty good. Programmed three for RGB color change, one for a 5 led chaser. Thinking about a flame effect and a few other things.

    Got some newer ones cheap, with white LEDs and a single AA. Haven't messed with them yet, board is kind of confusing. The boost converter is interesting, but not sure if there is enough current for a microcontroller and LEDs.

    If you can buy them for $3-5, why risk stealing them? I don't salvage much anymore. Most components are surface mount and house marked, so basically worthless. VCRs and computers are good for motors and gears, few other things.
     
  3. Hero999

    Hero999 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes:
    79
    Location:
    England
    I assume that the ones with a single cell use a Joul theif syle boost converter? I've never opened one up before but I'm not goind to buy one just for that.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. HarveyH42

    HarveyH42 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,442
    Likes:
    18
    Location:
    Not Here

    I pick them up sometimes when they are on sale, with the intent to modify them. Last batch were a 4-pack for 10.99, figured the solar panels would be worth the price. Actually turned out to be nice bright white, and last a good 6 hours or so (still on at 2 A.M.). Have others to modify that don't work as well, so leaving them for another time.
     
  6. napalm

    napalm New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes:
    0
    5 led chaser and RGB color changing? Those are some pretty cool mods you came up with.
     
  7. HarveyH42

    HarveyH42 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,442
    Likes:
    18
    Location:
    Not Here
    Yeah, I've been learning AVR microcontrollers. The Tiny13 I've been using, will run off 1.8 volts. So anything that can light an LED... It's 8 pin, 6 I/o, but pin one gives me problems, so stick with 5.

    Anyway, back to the salvaging parts... Guess I don't really look for the electronic components anymore, mostly motors and mechanical stuff.
     
  8. Sceadwian

    Sceadwian Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,047
    Likes:
    141
    Location:
    Rochester, US
    That one pin is reset =) You have to set fuses to be able to use it, and even then it's still attached internally to some of the programming circuits so you have to be careful when using it.
     
  9. HarveyH42

    HarveyH42 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,442
    Likes:
    18
    Location:
    Not Here
    An LED on pin one is only half as bright compared to the other I/O pins. Tried disable reset fuse, pullups, pretty much anything I could find to no effect. So instead of 6 LEDs, I settled for 5, and just left it alone since. Been a while since I wrote that sequencer program. It was the first thing I did after the beginner Flash-an-LED...
     
  10. Sceadwian

    Sceadwian Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,047
    Likes:
    141
    Location:
    Rochester, US
    Like I said Harvey, the internal drive for the reset pin is connected to different circuitry internally. If you want to fix the problem drive a transistor base, then you can tune the external resistor if need be. I/O pins aren't meant to drive LED's directly anyways. I think I went over this with you on a previous thread before, but that was multiple months ago.

    Back on topic.
    Printers, older DVD players, PC's and TV's are where I get all my junk from. A few laptops as well. Flatbed scanners are good, they usually have a CCFL tube and driver on issolated circuitry. I still have the first CCFL driver I ripped out of a scanner. Very nice module.
     
  11. things

    things New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    749
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    Cairns, Australia
    yeah, i was wondering how the boost converter worked in mine because all the board consited of was a few diodes, transistors and resistors:confused:
     
  12. 3v0

    3v0 Coop Build Coordinator Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,404
    Likes:
    227
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA USA
    Dead bathroom scale: two strain gauges, pressure switch, and a funky 4 digit 7 Segment display with digits that are 1.5 inches tall.
     
  13. Speakerguy

    Speakerguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Likes:
    15
    Location:
    USA
    Old power supplies. Giant transformers, caps, power resistors, good panel mount components. They don't make em like they used to.
     
  14. Sceadwian

    Sceadwian Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,047
    Likes:
    141
    Location:
    Rochester, US
    You could probably make a living selling old transformers =)
     
  15. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,592
    Likes:
    952
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    My son found a guy who worked for a large home entertainment store chain and he was moving. He had lots of "not repairable" stereos, computer drives, cell phones and MP3 players. My son took it all and I used parts from one MP3 player to fix another of the same model. It now works perfectly. It has a 10MB hard drive.
    This stuff has enough parts for me to use for many years.

    EDIT: The MP3 player has a 10GB hard drive.
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2007
  16. dknguyen

    dknguyen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,772
    Likes:
    72
    Whaa? 10MB?
     
  17. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,592
    Likes:
    952
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    It is a Creative Nomad Jukebox MP3 player. It uses the hard drive from a laptop pc. Its four AA NI-MH cells last only about 2 hours of playing.
    The unit looks as big as a CD player but it is heavier. It is about 2.5 years old.
    An iPod is much smaller and its battery lasts much longer.

    Sorry, its hard drive is 10GB, not a tiny 10MB.
     
  18. dknguyen

    dknguyen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,772
    Likes:
    72
    Ah, okay. I was thinking "hmmmm, 10MB? I'm pretty sure by the time the first MP3 player came out that we had much better memory densities."
     
  19. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,592
    Likes:
    952
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    My first pc was a 486 that came with a whopping 4MB of RAM and a 540MB hard drive. It died a couple of years ago with 52MB of RAM and a 2.1GB drive.
    My camera has 1GB of RAM.
     
  20. dknguyen

    dknguyen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,772
    Likes:
    72
    Yeah, but it has zero harddrive space lol.
     
  21. Hero999

    Hero999 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes:
    79
    Location:
    England
    Your camera doesn't have that much RAM, it's flash memory not RAM, it probably only has 64MB of RAM or even less.
     

Share This Page