Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Safely box-in transformer so that I can play with it without risking shock

Status
Not open for further replies.

king.oslo

Hello there,

I am building a power supply.

I would like to breadboard-build the circuit before I get a PCB manufactured. I don't have a power-supply at present, so I have no way of supplying the 30V 16A required apart from if I could safely use the transformer to power the breadboard-circuit.

I have no experience with mains current. I only have a good head, and common sense.

I reckon perhaps I could box the transformer into plastic whilst playing with it on the desk. I could drill one hole for input 230VAC and one fused (16A) output 30VAC.

Which things should I pay attention to so that I do not risk getting shocked?

Also, I have been told it is safe to work with sub 50VDC potential, how about AC? Is it correct to assume that the 30VAC output cannot shock me? I have been told that AC is more dangerous than DC.

What about cooling of the transformer? Does it get hot? Most of the time it will deliver more than perhaps 1A, apart for the brief moments I test the 16A capability.

Thanks.

Kind regards,
Marius

Last edited:
30V AC or DC is pretty safe. I would keep my hands dry!
The transformer will get warm with no load or 1A load. For 16A you will need good airflow. 16A for a minute will be fine.