1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

ROM Programming error at address 0x

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by yms, Mar 28, 2009.

  1. yms

    yms New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes:
    0
    Hello

    I use MicroPro (DIY K128) normally but today I have this probleme

    I want to progrem the PIC16F877A but it gives me this error

    ROM programming error at address 0X0000
    Good 0x3F33
    Bad 0x0000

    when I read this PIC, it work normal and when I re-programe it with the same programe -which i read it before- it work normal and i program another PIC like 16F628A it work normal also!!!!!

    But if i want to re-program it (PIC16F877A) with another program , i have always this error

    Thank you for your help:)
     
  2. Sceadwian

    Sceadwian Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,047
    Likes:
    142
    Location:
    Rochester, US
    Do you have a OTP chip on accident?
     
  3. yms

    yms New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes:
    0
    Thank's

    No
     
  4. dave miyares

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    -10


     
  5. 3v0

    3v0 Coop Build Coordinator Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,423
    Likes:
    232
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA USA
    Can you fully erase the chip ?

    I am thinking you are having a problem getting VPP to the chip.
     
  6. yms

    yms New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes:
    0

    Hello
    When i click on the botton Blank and I check Erase Chip , it's OK Chip has been erased
    But after this, I read it and I found the program in there, then it's not erased
     
  7. Sceadwian

    Sceadwian Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,047
    Likes:
    142
    Location:
    Rochester, US
    Are you SURE it's not a OTP chip? It's obviously locked from being reprogrammed in some fasion you're stuck with getting a new one unless there's a way to remove the lockbits.
     
  8. dave miyares

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    -10


     
  9. blueroomelectronics

    blueroomelectronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12,541
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Does it work with other PICs?
     
  10. yms

    yms New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes:
    0
    Hello
    I program it before, maybe 50 time and it work normal !!
     
  11. Sceadwian

    Sceadwian Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,047
    Likes:
    142
    Location:
    Rochester, US
    If you can read the program back successfully but can't erase the chip then you either set the program lock bits or you're doing something wrong in your reading process.
     
  12. yms

    yms New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes:
    0

    No it's works normal , I test it now with 16F628A
     
  13. blueroomelectronics

    blueroomelectronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12,541
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Do you have the latest DIY software (do they even update it anymore?) Do you have more than one 16F877A to test?
     
  14. yms

    yms New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes:
    0
    I try with another PIC 16F628A (Read , Write and Erase ) it's work normal but with 16F877A I can read but I can't Write (I can write the same program which i read it before).

    Note
    1 - When it's found a location memory not the same with the same location in the new program ,then it's show me the error message and gives me the address of this location and the value in this address in chip and in program
    2 - The same error also in the EEPROM when it's found they values in he same address they are not equals
     
  15. Sceadwian

    Sceadwian Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,047
    Likes:
    142
    Location:
    Rochester, US
    Sounds like a bad pic.
     
  16. yms

    yms New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes:
    0
    Unfortunately no I have not another one 16F877A today
     
  17. yms

    yms New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes:
    0
    Maybe, and maybe tomorrow I'll buy another ..​
     
  18. yms

    yms New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes:
    0
    Thank you for your help

    yes probleme of the chip , I test another one today and it's OK
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice