Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Resistor = volts can you help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

tricku

I have a few questions as I am very new to this type of thing, thanks also for looking.

I have a model boat that I have made and I need help with the following.

1) I have a servo which I have ripped out the guts and wired it from the motor direct. It runs on a 1.5v battery fine but I need it to work from a 12v battery and know I need a resistor but what one. Can you help.

2) I have 6 - 8 led's in line and not sure again what reistor I would need.

3) If I have a Led that is say upto 6v but want to run it from a 12v battery what reisito do I need for this.

Can I use the same resistor for all three needs

I hope some one can help me and you are welcome to contact me on my email address
richard@tricku.com I am based in Kingston upon Thames, Surrey, England.

0208 549 9234
M: 07974 357 911

Richard Special MMC
Magic Circle Magician and Entertainer.

P.S. No I can not use any magic to make this happen. I'm a magician not god, well not yet anyway

1) I have a servo which I have ripped out the guts and wired it from the motor direct. It runs on a 1.5v battery fine but I need it to work from a 12v battery and know I need a resistor but what one. Can you help.

As the current draw of the motor varies, it is not possible to use a fixed resistor. Rather, you need to use a voltage regulator set at 5v (or under) for the motor).

Motor: 6v max
Min load: ~100mA