Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Resistive Electronic Load

Status
Not open for further replies.

Quiet

Hi,
I am an MSc student in power electronics. I need an idea how to design an electronic load. The behaviour of the load should be "Resistive"; not constant current type or other. When voltage is increased I want current going throuh the load is increased as well. There is a pricipal circuit attached, i am not sure how precise it works. But i need other ideas as well.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• resistive_load.gif
    resistive_load.gif
    118 KB · Views: 801
See the annotated schematic below. Note that, as the output voltage goes up, the current goes down. That's the wrong direction. You need a function with the form

Rout=Vout/Iout=k*Vctrl
Solving for Iout,
Iout=Vout/(k*Vctrl) or Iout=k'*Vout/Vctrl.

It looks to me like you need an analog divider, or perhaps a microcontroller, if you want DC current. If you can tolerate PWM, a microcontroller is still probably the easiest way to implement it.
If there is an easy way to do this in purely analog fashion, maybe one of the other guys here knows how to do it.

Attachments

• resistive_load_anno.png
    resistive_load_anno.png
    445.2 KB · Views: 655
Hi,

Sounds to me like you want to make an artificial resistor,
presumably to provide loading conditions for a battery or some
power supply unit to test that the power supply works ok.

Presumably you want to be able to vary the resistance of it