1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Requirements for external fuse

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Cicero, Dec 7, 2017.

  1. Cicero

    Cicero Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    337
    Likes:
    36
    Location:
    UK
    Hi there,

    I'm designing a product which has an internal battery, and I'm using a SCP-35-12 PSU https://www.mouser.co.uk/ProductDetail/Mean-Well/SCP-35-12/?qs=AmzscSOM9Zbf9CqcaRL6sQ==

    I'm wondering though, and I can't find a definite answer in terms of safety requirements docs, whether I absolutely have to have an external accessible fuse on the chassis? The PSU does have a built in fuse already, but it would require a technician to open the machine, and change it should it go for some reason.

    Hoping one of you fellas just know off the top of your heads, I'd really appreciate it.
     
  2. kubeek

    kubeek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,510
    Likes:
    189
    Location:
    Prague, Czechia (not Chechnya)
    I am not sure about the definitive answer, but everything comes down to safety of the person changing the fuse. If the voltage is low enough to be safe, or everything is shielded enough so that you cannot come into contact with the high voltage, then I guess you should be ok having it inside.
    Since it is battery powered, the current can be quite high and you might need protection covers against short-circuiting the battery even if the voltage is safe.
     
  3. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,331
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    ONLINE
    I would suggest not, particularly as a UK product it will have a fuse in the mains plug.

    Even more so, there are a GREAT many products which don't have replaceable mains fuses at all, not even by a technician.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Cicero

    Cicero Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    337
    Likes:
    36
    Location:
    UK

    Ok cool, to be honest I didn't want to put an external fuse. There are a few internal ones so I felt it would be redundant anyway.
     

Share This Page