Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Pwm

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey everyone.

I just received some RGB LED's from eBay and would like to start a PWM project with a PIC.
I have never used a PWM before so I would like to start at the very basics...

So my question is, I would like to know if it is possible to make a PWM using an RC oscillator and some more components?

Jake.

Depends on if you want to do it "open loop" (which you can do with a 555), or if you want to do it "closed loop" where you measure the actual current through the LEDs, and adjust the pulse width on the fly to get a specified current.

I think it can be done directly with the PIC chip with one command. Check the data sheet.
Of course it can, but I would like to know if I can do it without a uC.
Just so I can observe the output with an osciloscope and see what effect it has on one led.
Without having to program pic...

Last edited:
So my question is, I would like to know if it is possible to make a PWM using an RC oscillator and some more components?
The usual way to achieve PWM control is to generate a sawtooth or triangle signal. Then feed this signal into the positive input of an comparator. On the negative input, you aply the control voltage, wich should have any value between the sawtoot signals most positive and most negative value.

Attachments

• PWM.png
    PWM.png
    34.8 KB · Views: 291
Last edited: