Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Project on renewable energy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andreea

Hello!
I study "Electronics, Telecommunications and Technology of Information" and I'm in my last year of university. I have to start working on my final thesis and I would like to do something about renewable energy. Beside writing the thesis, I also have to make/build a circuit.

I initially thought of making a solar powered mobile phone charger, but what I found is that it's too simple, you only need the solar panels and some wires and it's done. I would like to do something more complex than that, but not too complicated also, maybe using a microcontroller. Do you have any suggestion? What other projects using solar panels can be done?

I just want some ideas, not someone to write my thesis.

Thank you :)

Well, there's always the solar tracker idea (done to death, but will teach you a lot about feedback and control systems, especially in the solar business). You could also try doing a control system for solar heat or cooling. How about a solar powered air conditioner (maybe using peltier coolers? you'd need a large solar array, though)? What about a solar-powered (and aimed by a tracker) steam generator (perhaps running a small steam engine driving a generator)...?

You might also look into a solar electrolysis (hydrogen generation) system, controlled and monitored via a microcontroller...

:)