Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

programmer geek wants to start basic electronics?

Status
Not open for further replies.

giddy_geek

hi,

I'm a proficient C# programmer and MCP.

I've got my vacations now and i thought of getting into electronics.:D

All i know so far is Boolean Gates in theory and how they can be produced on a circuit.

I need to know about transistors, capacitors, amplifiers etc , maybe what they are would be great, then i could figure how they relate to simple ICs.

Any good books I should look at?

Thanks so much
Gideon

I guess you missed the Good Book section Under Main forums page.

giddy_geek said:
hi,

I'm a proficient C# programmer and MCP.

I've got my vacations now and i thought of getting into electronics.:D

All i know so far is Boolean Gates in theory and how they can be produced on a circuit.

I need to know about transistors, capacitors, amplifiers etc , maybe what they are would be great, then i could figure how they relate to simple ICs.

Any good books I should look at?

Thanks so much
Gideon

I recommend the Art of Electronics by Horowitz and Hill. It might appear a bit dense at first but it really covers a lot of ground and is clear and easy to understand.

Tattoo Ohm's Law inside your eyelids. :)

This is a good online tutorial book:

Wikipedia, Google, and this forum are also good resources (guess you figured that out already).