Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Power Solution for Car audio applications that require high amperage

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nas222PTB

I am trying to find a solution to provide my vehicle which has a 94R/H7 12v battery and a 150amp alternator with enough power to run a car audio amplifier which is a Taramps Smart 3k audio amplifier. The amps power input is 12v-16v and has a 150-300amp draw or requirements. I am very new to all the electronic stuff but am fairly capable and learn very fast. I know I could just buy a HO 320-370amp alternator and throw a aux battery in but I want to be difficult I guess! What would be a fairly cost efficient way to resolve this? I have seen these Brazilian audio companies that have bivolt ac-dc charger/power supplies which can provide up to 150-240amps but that would require alot of headache as well. If there is a way to use like a boost converter then make it provide continuous 16v directly to the audio amp with a minimal input requirement from the vehicle power system that would be great. I guess kind of like an super efficient electronic alternator that runs off the electrical system. Any help would be great! Thanks in advance!

First, power is power. Volts x amps = watts. You can't convert one voltage to another voltage to create more power than the alternators output max power (watts).