Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Pickit 3 led flashing, normal or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kal_B

Hello everyone,
I'm brand new to micro-controllers and started with PIC16F876A and a Pickit3 programmer.
I wired it up and fired up MPLAB x IDE V5.4 and after a couple of days of reading and watching youtube I configured it to be powered up via the USB port with 4.5VDC.
I was able to download a basic program with no errors but can not get a red LED connected to RB4 to illuminate and while troubleshooting I couldn't figure out if a flashing red LED is normal.
It is right beside the Status LED and flashing at a steady rate which I think is every second. (Note: it appears to flash slower in the posted gif than real life)
Any ideas?
Thanks

Attachments

• fx33EyIqrT.gif
    fx33EyIqrT.gif
    46.1 MB · Views: 318
I think I know why my LED did not work and that is because I did not have an oscillator connected to the chip and will have to buy one next week.
It would be nice to know though the deal with that flashing LED in the Pickit3
Thanks

Last edited:
Just powered up my PicKit 3 and the power and active lights are lit and the status isn't. According to the manual page 39 the error (assuming continuous flashing) is that the PicKit isn't able to set Vdd or Vpp (more likely) to the correct voltage. Check your wiring.

Mike.