Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

picking a pic

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teo

Hello all,
This is my first post and I need help picking a pic and some other componants for my school project. To be honest I'm just in my 3rd semester and haven't had assembly language yet but have programmed a couple of eproms. I have a year to complete this project and finding the parts I need is a bit overwhelming at this point with my current knoweledge.

The project that I submitted is a 10 channel power outlet controlled by a pic & real time clock. The ideal is to turn individual outlets on and off at user set times. It will have and LCD interface with about 8 buttons to set time, on/off values, and to load values into memory and so forth. I would like to have 4 on/off settings per outlet. I'm pretty sure of the extremitys of the circuit after the pic, but interfacing the clock, LCD, pic, buttons, and the programming part, I'm still scetchy about.

any way I figure I need a 16 or 20 pin I/O chip with flash and ram built in but am having a problem locating (no, figuring out) which one to use....also figure I need a real time clock chip and crystal.... and a LCD 2x24 lines should so it.

I realize there is a lot to take into account for this project, but since it based on a real time clock, I need to get the LCD, pic, and clock chip just to keep time and go from there.