Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC24F with LCD please help!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dinnin

So I am working on my first project and was trying to get my schematic down before i started learning to code. I bought the "learning to fly PIC24" book. I have a few beginners questions;

1. My project will include a 4x4 keypad and a 16x2 LCD screen with the PIC24FJ64GA002 controller, can i hook all of this up to a 28 pin PIC24?

2. I plan to use the basic 16x2 LCD hd44780, but i have no idea how to lay it out on my schematic, which pins go to which D0-D7, do i want 8 bit or 4 bit? I can find examples every where for a PIC16F/PIC18F but no PIC24. Just what to plug in where?

3. Also is there a standard way of hooking up the hardware to make coding the LCD/KEYPAD easier?

Thanks in advance for any help and if my question are amateur sorry again its my first project!

Last edited:
So I am working on my first project and was trying to get my schematic down before i started learning to code. I bought the "learning to fly PIC24" book. I have a few beginners questions

I think your approach is a little backwards. It would probably be more benificial for you to learn the programming side of things first and then lay out your schematic. Plus you may decide to change which I/O pins you're using throughout the course of programming and debugging. Just my opinion.

I'm not familiar with the book you purchased. What language does it teach? Does it come with an IDE?