PIC16F877 prgrammer

Status
Not open for further replies.

tanoflash4

Can anyone suggest what is the best programmer for PIC16F877? I am not good in prgramming that's why I am looking for a software that has similar language with visual C++. I am kinda new with microcontrollers and I wanted to use this PIC as an ADC with 3 inputs.

Also, can i get the software for free?

Thank You very much!!!

I would suggest an ICD2 clone, like the Inchworm or Inchworm+ (search on here for them). C++ and Visual languages don't really have any place with microcontrollers, and C compilers are expensive - although most provide limited demo versions. Assembler is free though, and my tutorials show pretty well what you want.

If you want to use C, I would suggest moving to the higher spec 18F series, where they provide a free C compiler, although if you pay for it you get better optimisation.

There is also the free HiTech C compiler for the 16F series pics.

Mike.

A good programmer supports majority of PICS & DEBUGGING features & some are programming voltages controllable & full support from the external power supply.

Before I build a good PIC programmer this is what I had in the first time. It’s called micro JDM programmer. Only take 5 mins to build. For 877 it worked fine. It depends upon the serial port voltages & also note that in some laptops it won’t work but in most desktop PC’s it worked.

**broken link removed**

rukshankb said:
What is the best programmer for pic16f877a. i need a circuit diagram.
Google it. Lots of results.
http://www.hamradioindia.org/circuits/feng.php
**broken link removed**