Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC16F877 prgrammer

Status
Not open for further replies.

tanoflash4

Can anyone suggest what is the best programmer for PIC16F877? I am not good in prgramming that's why I am looking for a software that has similar language with visual C++. I am kinda new with microcontrollers and I wanted to use this PIC as an ADC with 3 inputs.

Also, can i get the software for free? :D

Thank You very much!!!

I would suggest an ICD2 clone, like the Inchworm or Inchworm+ (search on here for them). C++ and Visual languages don't really have any place with microcontrollers, and C compilers are expensive - although most provide limited demo versions. Assembler is free though, and my tutorials show pretty well what you want.

If you want to use C, I would suggest moving to the higher spec 18F series, where they provide a free C compiler, although if you pay for it you get better optimisation.

<==== Raising hand to vouch for PICKit2 programmer.

A good programmer supports majority of PICS & DEBUGGING features & some are programming voltages controllable & full support from the external power supply.

Before I build a good PIC programmer this is what I had in the first time. It’s called micro JDM programmer. Only take 5 mins to build. For 877 it worked fine. It depends upon the serial port voltages & also note that in some laptops it won’t work but in most desktop PC’s it worked.

**broken link removed**

rukshankb said: