Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC16f688 RA4

Status
Not open for further replies.

xNewbie

Hey guys I'm pretty new with all this programming stuff. Though I am currently working on this project as to where I have my RA4 pin as an input. I use it for momentary switch to change sequence.

Anyways, I have it set to high using WPUA. It would work during startup and would change the sequence whenever I use the switch. But it would often glitch after I try changing to my next sequence and it would instead get stuck on float rather than go back to high.

I pretty much have to shut the power off and back on for pin RA4 to return to being high.

I may have just missed something during my initialization...?

Any suggestion?

Any suggestion?
Sounds like your PIC is resetting during program run. Weak pullups are disabled after a reset. Do you have a proper pullup resistor (10K to 33K is fine) on your MCLR pin? Don't let MCLR float or you'll have freaky weird problems. :p

Power is solid? No shortage of it?

Do you have decoupling capacitors between VDD and VSS pins? As close as possible? 0.1uF ceramics are fine for this.

Are you setting RA4 as an output anywhere in the program? That will disable weak pullups too.

Last edited:
He might be using the internal MCLR function. I would encourage posters to include their code - or the relevant sections, at least - and a simple circuit diagram in their posts or people can only guess which the problem could be.