Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Pic Vs Basic?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well I'm fairly new to micro controllers and circuitry in general, but I want to get into micro controllers.

Are BASIC Stamp and PIC just different types / brands?

Which would be good for a beginner but also has a lot of potential and functionality?

Thanks.

A Basic Stamp IS a PIC. THe difference is the BASIC Stamp has a small inpterpreter IC mounted on the PCB alongside the PIC so that you can use BASIC to program it.

THe PIC has more functioanlity. It does not have an interpreter (and therefore runs faster I believe). You can use assembler, C, Basic, or whatever you want to code it- if you have a programmer (a piece of hardware which may be separate or build onto the board), and the right compiler (you know what that is right?).

THe BASIC stamps have the programming hardware on the PCB already (or bootloader code on the chip, I am not sure which) so you can just plug your PC into the PCB (of course, you can also do this with a PIC and bootloader, or if you have the know-how, build the programming hardware onto your PCB).

Basically, the PIC can do anything and more than the BASIC stamp, because the BASIC stamp is a PIC.