Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

OP AMP Basics

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suraj143

Hi guys I’m very new to opamps. I have read many articles & there are some doubts I cannot clarify y myself. So I need your help to sort out those doubts.

A non inverting gain formula is given like this (Vg=1+RA/RB)

Is this formula given to calculate the output volts or just to calculate the gain?

Both: if you know the input voltage. ;)

Thanks.

If my input is 20mV I cannot apply to the formula.But I know the gain if it is 5 then output will be 100mV.

Then how do I apply the input voltage to the formula?

If the gain is 5, then Ra/Rb must be 4, which you didn't ask.

Vout=Vin*Gain = 20mV * (1+Ra/Rb) = 20mV*5 = 100mV

ps, where is South Mald Island?

Last edited:
Hi MikeMl now I understood well.Thanks for the explanation.

Now the thing is if I apply 0V what will be the output in a gain 5 of opamp? My opamp is single supply not dual.

Unless you are using a Rail-to-Rail opamp, with zero volts at the input and on the Vss pin of the opamp, the output will be sitting tens to hundreds of mV. Even a RR opamp cannot pull to zero volts, close but not zero.
In most opamp applications, you bias the input to halfway between Vss and Vdd of the opamp, and call that "zero". Then the opamp output can swing both above and below zero:D

Last edited:
Hi MikeMl thanks for be with me. I have more doubts sorry for that.