Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

novice led help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tresguey

im a novice. i want to build a led chaser project. i am trying to do a little research on them. so i broke out my old bread board and bought some led's resistors a couple 555's and a 556 along with an assortment of transisters. my first goal was to just light up one led. i used the led series resistor sight to calculate the resitor needed. it said 430 ohm's. so i pluged it in to the bread board and it burned out two led's. i was useing a 9 volt battery to power it. my question is, was that the correct resistor? and if it wasnt how can i figure out the value of the resitor needed? its kind of disappointing if i cant get one to light up how am i going to get a chaser going on. any help will be great.

What's the forward voltage and continous current of the LEDs?
Did you have the resistor connected in series? because it doesnt seem like 430 ohms should have burned them out.
Here's a good resistor calculator:
**broken link removed**

Dont get discouraged though, just takes alittle time. but be careful though, those LEDs are addictive. I started out playing with them a few years ago, and now I have 62 of them in the headliner of my car. (see links in sig for movies)