Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Notch Filter Woes...

Status
Not open for further replies.

nfway

Hello all,
I'm new to speaker design, so please pardon the ignorance.

I have built a small guitar amplifer that feeds a 8 ohm speaker, and am now fine tuning the output to my needs. Can anyone tell me how I might be able to filter out 800 Hz completely? I've plugged a equalizer pedal into the amp and layed with it until I narrowed it down to this frequency.

The amp sounds great with this frequency filtered out, but not so hot with it in.

I've tried the Twin T design on the following page:
**broken link removed**

I used value of 1.8K for R and .1uF for C which, according to the calculations should have been a good starting point, but the output was too low, and very distorted. I'm not sure if this has anything to do with what is going on, but the amplifier uses BTL configuration, therefor the outputs are floating with respect to ground.

Thanks in advance for any and all helpful suggestions.

My understanding of simple filters is that they attenuate to some degree but do not block completely. You might need several stages.