Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Not sure where to start

Status
Not open for further replies.

supermancc0386

So I've got an idea for a project and I'd rather not disclose much about it, but I am looking for some help.

I'm no electrical engineer. I have a general knowledge of basic electronic components. I know what a capacitor, resistor, transistor, diode, transformer, ect... is and does, but that is about all.

I'll try to list what I need to get accomplished in a very detailed way.

I need to be able to take in a user input number. (number pad or buttons)
I need to be able to broadcast that user input number around 300 ft.
I need to be able to receive that user input number from a max of around 300ft. The unit doing the broadcasting would be able to receive numbers from another broadcasting unit.
Upon reception, I would like to do something (like have an LED blink or display the number via 7-segment display)
It would need the capability to broadcast both an 8 and 10 digit number at the same time, and receive either the 8 or the 10 digit number depending on which mode is selected.

With a little help from Google, I'm thinking I need a microcontroller of some sort and a transceiver? And some way to program the microcontroller. I could be wrong here. I'm very lost as to where to start so if anyone could point me in the right direction, that would be wonderful!