Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Not sure if this will work

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob95655

I'll try to keep this short as I am a newbie to the board. If I have left out some vital information please ask.

I have a light bar I am trying to mount to my vehicle as a "quick disconnect" to be able to install it quickly when needed and remove just as easy. The current setup requires 7 wires to run the bar with another 9 to run a traffic director mounted inside.

The bar itself (strobes, alley lights and takedown lights) is a positive switched system...the traffic director is a negative switched system.

Running 16 wires to the light bar makes for a huge harness. I don't mind the size so much but to make it quick disconnect would require the use of the "mil-spec" multi-pin connectors for the electrics. I love those, but the crimp tool costs in the ballpark of $400, so I am trying to work around that.

My idea to make a thinner cable harness was to mount relays inside the light bar, run a main hot lead and ground lead, then use something like CAT5 or CAT6 outdoor (uv) rated cables as "triggers" for the relays.

A few questions:
1) Can CAT5/6 wire handle 12v? My Carling switch panel would provide 12v (unknown amps but probably not much) to trigger the relay to switch on, using power from the main power buss I would mount inside.