Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Noob here with a really simple question/request for all the experts here...

Status
Not open for further replies.

jorgeasl

HI
This is my first ever attempt of building anything with electronics, and it's actually really simple (i think) but I have no clue how to do it.

I have 4 LED strips two white and two amber for both sides of the car, I want to use them as daytime running lights in a car, and the amber for turnlights, they will both be inside the car's headlights.

I want to tap the amber strip into the current turn signal cables, so that they work together with the current turn signals.

And i want to connect the white led strip, into the current daytime running lights cables, so that they work together.

So far i know how to do this but my real question is:

Is there a way to integrate both, so that when the turn signals are activated, and the amber strip starts flashing, the white led strip can be turned off, and when the turn is complete and the flashers turn off, the white led strip can be turned back on?

Basically like a "if" function.
If flashers are working, turn the white strip off...
If flashers are off, turn the white strip on

I just want to do this with only the 4 led strips, 1 amber and 1 white for each side of the car, and not interfere with the stock car lights??

I can solder and stuff like that, but i just don't know what electronic components will let me do this and how to connect them together.