Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

newbie to microcontrollers..

Status
Not open for further replies.

nye

hi..im new to microcontrollers, and have jus learnt thro uni how to use assembly and C to program the motorola 68HC11...
i now want to 'vernture out' and program and make other stuff outside of my uni work..do i use the 68HC11, or do i get onto one of the PIC microcontrollers??will it be easy for me to use another microcontroller???also, i have vista on my laptop, and no serial/parallel ports..will that be a problem?

It all depends on availability of chips and the respetive software support, and availability of programmer for uploading the derived HEX / BIN files into the micro-controllers.

As of now and wrt to indian context where I live, PICs are freely avaialable and Microchip's support from their website is good. So it si for you to choose. Nothing would be difficult, and you should be able to go thro' the PIC devies as easily.
All the best.

ok..are PICs a lot different from microcontollers such as the 68HC11??or do they use the same principles??
thanks

nye said:
ok..are PICs a lot different from microcontollers such as the 68HC11??or do they use the same principles??
thanks
Hope you wont mid to have a read thro' the sticky at
https://www.electro-tech-online.com/threads/pic-newcomers-please-read-upd-0xd1.15035/