Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

**NEWBIE** Need help or guidance on simple project

Status
Not open for further replies.

abomboldskool

I'm trying to put together a little project for my car and am looking for a little help or guidance. I know my cars circuitry well, as well as intermediate computer circuitry but unfortunately I missed the generation of the circuitry I'm trying to set up. I have basic knowledge of circuitry components and such. I attached a crude drawing of what I am trying to accomplish. I know this is newbish but please don't flame and I have been studying ways to accomplish this sparingly and a microcontroller seems like the best way unless you guys have alternate ideas.

View attachment 68405

looks sensible to me.

Might be a bit complex for a first project.

If I was to tackle that I'd search google for something that talks to a pc using the keybaord input, there are various projects of that nature, then if presumeably your using a laptop or similar in the car you could connect the device to it and send keyboard shortcut values to it to control your mp3 software.

Maybe use something like the popular pic16f628 for this, it has 2 serial controllers.