Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help with Junebug and PIC16F877A

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shipton

Hey everyone,

So I'm working on a project for university. Because my university graciously does ver ylittle practical, not surprising, I'm stuck because I'm a near-on total newbie to this kind of stuff.

I'm trying to program a PIC16F877A. I have one of those, and a Junebug. I'm trying to figure out howto hook the sucker up to the Junebug, but I have to say I have no idea. The instructions that came with the Junebug are just as cryptic.

First off, the PIC16F877A is indeed a 3.3v uC right?

The diagram in the instructions shows a BUNCH of things that are confusing me. For one, because it's hooked into the ICD, is that good for programming or does that only do debugging?

Next, it shows a bunch of white arrows going to "3.3V," including a lead coming in directly off the 5V pin which puts out a constant ~5V. That makes even less sense to me. What exactly is that trying to say?

Finally, what are the positions of the DIP switches on the board itself?

Any ideas what I could use as a test program when I DO get this sucker running?

Thanks everyone.

the device is 5V working, please see the relevant data sheet.
you can program it by connecting the Vpp, Vdd, Gnd, Data and Clock pins as indicated in the PICKIT2 user guide.
A small bit of info is appended here.

The DIP switches are meant for managing the 18F1320, thus all of them can be OFF